And a GP does tell the Times “as it is”….

In direct contrast to the RCGP Chair, a retired GP, Dr Paul Menin tells it as it really is in The Times 27th April 2017, and the implication for the politicians is that it may be too late to be honest. A two tier health service is developing by neglect, in all 4 Health Systems.

Image result for tell it as it is cartoon

BURNT-OUT GPs

Sir, As a recently retired GP I have been dismayed to be offered an incentive payment of up to £4,000 by the government to go back to work. I had reached a point of stress where I was likely to be no longer as effective and safe in the consulting room, so I retired. This is a situation in which a huge number of GPs find themselves — hence the manpower crisis in general practice and this offer.

Luring burnt-out GPs back into practice might help for a short while but it does nothing to address the underlying problems. To now effectively pay me more than an existing partner, with all the huge responsibilities that they carry, is insulting to all the GPs who are continuing to work. To add insult to injury, working as a locum with no managerial burden at all you can earn far more. The solutions are many and varied and are all possible without any significant extra expense — but none of them I fear will win elections.

Dr Paul Menin

Hythe, Southampton

RCGP Chairman misses the opportunity to tell it as it is.

Burn Out GPs

This entry was posted in A Personal View, General Practitioners, Rationing, Stories in the Media on by .

About Roger Burns - retired GP

I am a retired GP and medical educator. I have supported patient participation throughout my career, and my practice, St Thomas; Surgery, has had a longstanding and active Patient Participation Group (PPG). I support the idea of Community Health Councils, although I feel they should be funded at arms length from government. I have taught GP trainees for 30 years, and been a Programme Director for GP training in Pembrokeshire 20 years. I served on the Pembrokeshire LHG and LHB for a total of 10 years. I completed an MBA in 1996, and I along with most others, never had an exit interview from any job in the NHS! I completed an MBA in 1996, and was a runner up for the Adam Smith prize for economy and efficiency in government in that year. This was owing to a suggestion (St Thomas' Mutual) that practices had incentives for saving by being allowed to buy rationed out services in the following year.

Leave a Reply

