Public relations advice on “making difficult decisions” from the Department of Health to Commissioners and Trust Boards

A new report “Making Difficult Decisions” has been launched by NHS Clinical Commissioners in collaboration with the University of Birmingham, and is heralded in The Times by the headline “How to close hospitals” (not on line), and is about how to broach hospital closures with the public. It says “active engagement, consultation and nurturing trustworthy relationships” are vital….. In retrospect, in Pembrokeshire which rejected a new build 7 years ago, a majority of the profession would support it now, seeing what the alternative has been. Would anything have been different if this report had been 10 years earlier?

Download Making Difficult Decisions PDF

Image result for difficult decision health cartoonIf rationing is accepted as a “policy” and a pragmatic need in view of the advance of science faster than our ability to pay, then we can start the discussion about the options for “how” to ration acceptably.

 

 

This entry was posted in A Personal View, Rationing, Stories in the Media on by .

About Roger Burns - retired GP

I am a retired GP and medical educator. I have supported patient participation throughout my career, and my practice, St Thomas; Surgery, has had a longstanding and active Patient Participation Group (PPG). I support the idea of Community Health Councils, although I feel they should be funded at arms length from government. I have taught GP trainees for 30 years, and been a Programme Director for GP training in Pembrokeshire 20 years. I served on the Pembrokeshire LHG and LHB for a total of 10 years. I completed an MBA in 1996, and I along with most others, never had an exit interview from any job in the NHS! I completed an MBA in 1996, and was a runner up for the Adam Smith prize for economy and efficiency in government in that year. This was owing to a suggestion (St Thomas' Mutual) that practices had incentives for saving by being allowed to buy rationed out services in the following year.

Leave a comment