A reminder in poetry: “I am a child of the NHS”

On the 60th Year of the NHS I read a poem “I am a child of the NHS”… Unfortunately I don’t have the author… Reader –  let me know..

I am a child of the NHS
And despite my complaints you cannot guess
How grateful I am for the service I get.
Sometimes I reflect on the media and press
Which are patently unable to cope with the stress
Of  projecting the truth to the Nation.
The whole concept
Of cradle to grave
Caring for the dying, the elderly, the depraved,
(of nothing to pay, and no duty to save)
For that rainy day or medical surprise
Is “in place of fear”; A fantastic idea.
Aneurin Bevan was the constructor/designer
But time and reality are mean destroyers
Budgets and acronyms abound
To confuse the public in getting around
The shape of a wonderful dream
Which is becoming a nightmare
Said our friend Anne today:
“you can go to hospital well (if you dare)
And come out smelling of MRSA”.
So what is bringing back the fear?
And to compound the rationing, beware
For now both Dental and Physio care
Are unavailable to most – were you aware
That those  words “commissioning” and “fund-holding”
Were parodies of the truth?
And hidden deep in the morass
Of a beurocracy this crass
Is absenteeism so perverse,
It is shamed by every organisation
In the whole Universe
A reflection of a system designed
For the assertive, with morale much worse.
Forget Equity, Forgive Access,  Remove Choice, Allow unfairness
Remain National, not regional,
Counter litigation paranoia with no-fault compensation (none can afford lawyers)
And save my NHS.
So who is the “gatekeeper” in this mess? Your GP,  would you guess.
(that person who does sustained, unpredictable, often imperative, multitasking, for individuals families or groups)

I am a child of the NHS
And, still, despite my complaints you cannot guess
How grateful I am for the service I get.

and it’s worse in wales..

NHS cuts back on IVF treatment due to cost pressures – The Mail 3rd November 2015

Leave a Reply

